A Particularly Cheap White Whine:

Racism, Scholarships and the Manufacturing of White Victimhood.

1954-1968. Civil Rights movement is going on in the United States. Young men and woman are fighting for the rights of equality to white people, something we can say today that still is simply not fixed. We look at the looming question did we really stop the disparity, NO. We holistically view each other as equals because on the outside it looks equal. Well why is it that a black male gets pulled over way more than a white male. It’s things like these that have many up in arms because they are putting make up on a blemish and avoiding the truth of racial bias.

Fair selection

We see that clearly through scholarships there is a qualification on who you are, not how intelligent the mind of the applicant is. We are holding this over the heads of students, I liken it to the politicians who are bought because of their views. Why is it fair to anyone for a particular group of people to get money for school. I know that my mom helped me get a scholarship through her work at Rhode Island Hospital. I received 2,500 for school, but that was an open application to help workers receive financial help. But, because I am Portuguese I can receive a scholarship, or because I’m a first generation college student.

Prior to this class, I would just shrug my shoulders and say “what ever pshhhhhhh I’ll take it” because I think I deserve it. When in reality, what did I do to really deserve this, I didn’t face and race/gender struggles my family came here from the Azores, and then I was born here. I take and applied to it because I felt entitled to it in reality I was being ignorant to the fact that people faced real world issues in order for this to be a thing. My grandparents and their friends and my Portuguese ancestors worked hard in farms for 12+ hours a day, or in factories giving blood sweat and tears to make ends meet. They then set up a scholarship so they did see their grandchildren and children struggle like they did. They did this out of pure love and to better the generations to come, now my ignorance was “heck this will help me pay less bills!” Did I ever think to thank any of them even my grandparents and parents for pushing me so hard to be someone? Not until I read about white privilege and ignorance. What made me better than any other ignorant white young man with privilege?

June 20, 2013
The Issue of Separate but Equal still exists. 

I could never say they we think and decide racist, but it actually is in terms of education and career opportunities. We do not go by the specific qualifications one possesses we initiate what we think is the right way of thinking. How do we stop this, well first off I believe we should offer classes such as this in public institutions. I like the notion that Amanda put forward. Not even putting what your race is down on applications. Why should it matter? The qualifications you bring to the table shouldn’t be hindered by the color, sexual orientation or gender you are.

Racism is real.  Video

 

3 thoughts on “A Particularly Cheap White Whine:

  1. The second picture you included is crazy. It takes a big issue out there and really puts it on blast in a very strong way. It takes two very large issues and combines them. Whoa.

    Like

  2. I love that picture you put up with all the different animals and it goes perfect with the picture of public education. when I think students in a poor school I think of the picture with all the animals. I can think of many people like the fish in the picture who are deprived; they are so intelligent and so respectful and just so outstanding but they get overlooked because who they are and where they come from. I hope that we can change things as teachers and only pray that more and more good teachers are hired so that no matter what zip code you’re in you’re getting a good quality education.

    Like

Leave a comment