Other People’s Children

In one of the classes I attended when for Service Learning, I noticed that the kids when they were put into groups the caucasian students were predominant in speaking out they wouldn’t even allow the chance to allow other students speak it was as if they felt they were the automatic leaders. It was almost like the student of other races would accept it too, although I never really realized it but in school I always spoke to. I think it was intact power of privilege because I was so absent to the fact that I would kind of just nominate my self as the speaker.

Reading the accounts from Delpit’s The Silenced dialog, and not remaining considerate and thoughtful for the real world I would thing caucasian people would have their feathers ruffled. Only because our comfort level is getting called out, because if we give up a shred of our privilege to allow anyone else to indulge in the same lifestyle. I feel as if it absolutely has to do with the psychology, that humans try to find any way possible to the simplest and quickest way to satisfaction. We use this advantage to get what we want and when color and race is brought into it, we get defensive when it isn’t our place to.

“I believe that the answer to these questions lies in ethnographic analysis, that is, in identifying and giving voice to alternative worldviews.” I feel as if Delpit is preaching words of wisdom that most people would not take into consideration unless they open their ears and listen. We cannot make progress without the power and privilege we need to identify the actual problem and initiate a sequence where we use it to teach students equality. Things like, what if we taught Black History through out the school year instead of for one measly month. We still today teach predominately white history, about our founding fathers I didn’t learn about columbus’ terrible ways until my last two years of public schooling and barely even touched the fact of black history. Why is it that it is an elective in high school and college to learn about African or African American History. It shouldn’t be taught separately because it is our history.

African American History for kids. This link has tons of cartoon lessons on teaching African American History for kids.

Leave a comment