Unlearning the Myths That Bind Us

My Brothers distorted reality.

Movies, television, video games and internet thats the world my brothers have grew up believing that everything they see is okay because its done on T.V so it must be true. Growing up sure I had T.V, but because my parents really didn’t have a lot because they had me at such a young age, I had to use my imagination. The way I had to contact my friends was to literally walk to their houses and ask them to come out side and play. My littlest brother Ryan (8 years old) only goes outside when I’m outside. His favorite things involve him face-timing another kid from Florida, while playing graphic video games. My middle brother Cameron (16 years old) was born just intake for this social boom of video games.

What they see and here left a mark on them forever, for example Ryan if ryan was mad he would begin screaming at us “I will kill you!” But the fact that he doesn’t even realize the meaning that if he was to kill us we would never come back and respond like in his ‘Call of Duty’ video game, he now knows this wrong and poor judgement as we had explained to him what happens. Imagine the seriousness of his little innocent mind that was plagued with such a violent action he really meant at the time. I do not find this okay, nor do i take it lightly. Because of the era I grew up where all I had was little toy cars and motor cycles the only violent action I could think of is the fact of a accident happening.

Cameron, the middle brother is so artistically talented and so very impressionable growing up he would idolize so many people. Kanye West being one of his ultimo favorites behind Notorious Big, but he doesn’t even notice that he is that easily grasped by fake realities. He even tries to dress just like Kanye and talks like Kanye, always repeating bad lyrics and such from his favorite songs. Well he actually is a firm believer that it is okay to do and say what you want to, along with no respects to the feelings of others besides his own.

I do in fact agree, that there is ‘Secret Education’ because the children are very impressionable and I believe that it is confusing to younglings that can’t distinguish the distortion in reality. Dorfman wrote, “Industrial produced fiction has become one of the primary sharpers of our emotions and our intellect…Although these stories are supposed to merely entertain us, the constantly give us secret education. We are not only taught certain styles of violence, the latest fashions, and sex roles by TV, movies, magazines, and comic strips…” We want to be like those with more power and money, we are always searching for quick ways to happiness.

http://www.med.umich.edu/yourchild/topics/tv.htm

This is a Child Development site put up by The University of Michigan about the effects of Television and violence on children.

Leave a comment